fitness

We want to pump (clap) you up!

Monday August 11, 2008:  soon to be known as “The Day Jill Gets Her Shizz Together”.  I am starting TigerLilly’s walking challenge as well as the 100 Push Ups Challenge today, which is a good thing because apparently I have no upper body strength whatsoever.  I did 13 knee push ups, but then tried to do regular push ups – sad, very sad.  I could not do even ONE.  I’d like to think it’s because I tired my arms out with the knee style push ups, but I really think it’s just because I am a (insert Hanz &Franz voice here) weak little girly girl.  

 

So on the work out front I have a two mile walk planned and 12 push ups to do.  If I’m feeling particularly pumped, I may throw in some ab work, I don’t know.  I think I’m more motivated to work out when I have a goal in mind than if I’m doing “just because I need to”, so these challenges have come along at the perfect time. 

 

I wanted to start Phase 1 of South Beach today, but since I didn’t make it to the grocery store over the weekend, the only protein I have in my house is some turkey lunchmeat.  I’ll do my best though to work with what I’ve got.  Eating hasn’t been bad lately, but just not as great as I’d like.  I’ve been really lax about getting in fruits and veggies lately, so that needs to be a focus this week too. 

 

Other than that, not a whole lot to say today.  Had a great weekend with my sister and her family, and the hubs and I decided to buy a new or new-to-me car very soon.  The Honda has a death rattle that can no longer be ignored. 

 

Hope you all have a good productive healthy week!! 

 

Layta!!

 

5 thoughts on “We want to pump (clap) you up!”

  1. Love Hanz & Franz, too funny.

    I am the same way about having a goal to meet in order to be motivated. Makes a big difference for me, too. And don’t feel bad about the pushups–they are tough!

    Hope it was a good day. And thank you so much for your kind words on my blog. You know I love you too! =)

  2. I know I SHOULD want to do 100 push ups, but I just don’t care enough to work for it. I think it’s a great goal… for someone else. I can do enough “boys” push ups to feel ok about it. However, I’m still hankering after an unassisted pull-up. Just one, that’s all I ask!

    But thanks–your pushing yourself to do push ups is pulling me towards working harder on my pull-up goal.

  3. Go Jill Go! If I were energetic, I would find some weird link to people clapping to insert here. But I’m not, so just use your imagination. I am clapping for you. And Hanz and Franz. I am always laughing when you refer to stuff like that, followed closely by being puzzled that you are old enough to know about Hanz and Franz. Really.

    So, the push ups. I can’t believe you can do 13 girl push ups to start. I could only do one–really. And when I report on my push up progress, they are still girl push ups. I don’t feel bad about that at all. I am a girl, and believe me, I am built like a girl. If boys were built like this, they couldn’t even do any girl push ups, I bet. (Do you read dietgirl? she had the funniest post about how when men get sick or hurt it is 100X worse than when the same thing happens to women.)

  4. I SOOO miss H&F.

    (and fear I was dating myself when Id attempt to quote them to the youngmamas in my Toddlers gym class…)

    and Im duly inpressed with your not seizing the I ONLY HAVE TURKEY as an excuse to put SB on hold.
    life, or at least mine, is all about making what you got work and working with whatcha got!

    have a great day,
    Miz.

  5. hey girl i forgot to comment on mad men! you should check amc’s website, i think they have recaps of last season and the shows this year. it’s such a great show. lots of emmys expected to win. i hope you watch so we can chat about it. have a great day!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.